As a diehard fan of Big Love, I am absolutely psyched for next week’s episode, which includes a Mormon Temple ceremony.  I read a lot about Temple ceremonies on Recovery from Mormonism, and I can’t wait to see what happens next week.  Friendly Atheist‘s Hemant Mehta goes into more detail, including questions about a potential uproar over showing Temple rituals [update: major discussion on the Friendly Atheist post], but I’ll leave the heavier stuff for another time.

The creators hired an ex-Mormon consultant and designers to get every detail right, and they say the ceremony is not part of the show for “shock value,” but rather because it’s integral to the story.  I agree: I’ve always wanted to see more of the religion in the show, since it dictates and influences nearly every aspect of the characters’ lives.

This show just gets better and better!

